Home

ImageLate. Again. I ran, I swore, I cursed as I made a dash for the Delhi bound train. It had been 3 months since I had flown out of that very city and the notion that I could go back again had me going mad with ecstasy. The much awaited NH7 Weekender Music festival was to make its second appearance for the first time in Delhi. Brilliant artists, Brilliant music. I couldn’t ask for more when the Weekender dates carelessly superimposed themselves over my Delhi dates. It was the hand of God, I tell you.

Image

A schedule had been formulated for me and it was bereft of much utilization as I found it immensely difficult to abide by. The next couple of days saw me in complete violation of my originally prepared plan save one. The Weekender. Armed with a couple of beers, we made our way to the much feared Greater Noida. About an hour or two from South Delhi, an enthusiastic car full of really “Happy” youngsters waited in the queue with the other million enthusiastic cars full of really “Happy” youngsters. All of young Delhi was at the Buddh Circuit that day and well I had no idea the Delhi young were like a million strong. The turnout was outrageous and the people equally so. The crowd was an eclectic mix of everything. From party people to Metal heads, drunk hobos to them hip hoppers, I couldn’t help but applaud the spirit of the Weekender. To see so many people as different as they could be from each other, enjoy the same cultural extravaganza with the same exact fervor. I was at a loss of words. It is true when they say that Music is a unifying experience. Even with the genre wars still a-raging there was so much happiness in the air, I had already been infected from a mile away.

Image

Image

Passes, wristbands, booklets, security and we were finally in. Flags of pink and orange swayed about in confused locomotion around the centre. And as I staggered away in determined swagger, I felt the music calling me. I wasn’t sure of which stage it was that I wanted my feet to take me to, it didn’t matter anyway. My feet worked in unison with my taste in music and thus I was taken wherever my feet thought it appropriate. I hence hopped from Bombay Bassment to Menwhopause to Jitter to Karsh Kale to the Dubstep Stage to Shai’r and Funk. In short it was MAD. I got a feel of them blues and I got to see Monica Dogra live. That funky bass got me some peace of mind just as the Dubstep blew that same mind away. A melodic symphony of completely unrelated notes hovered over this canopy of beautiful people. And I was happy and I was lost. That smile did not possess a disengage button for the next three days.

Image

Image

Image

And as Day 1 slowly extinguished the flames of the fire it had started, in tired stupor we followed that long road back to Delhi.

Consequential to the lack of organization and disregard for the hands on the clock, we thought it imperative that we mend our ways this second time around. Thus, we arrived way past the scheduled hour on Day 2 as well. Nevertheless, all was not lost yet. Still to take the stage was the madness of Megadeth, the quirk of Dualist Inquiry, the funk of Soulmate, the genius of Blackstrat Blues and the existence of a bunch of other people I hadn’t heard of. The surge of colour as had been witnessed on the first day was abruptly spotted with a million dots of black. Metal heads adorned the immense “bobby” population that marched through the gates of the Rock Arena. Nevertheless, colour did not kinder spirit and the festival was as vivacious as ever.

Image

Image

Image

Confusion reigned as the “Must Watch” artists played in parallel harmony with each other. I wasn’t quite content with the allotment, but there’s no point being grumpy at the happiest Music festival. Hence, we managed to find a way. Soulmate, one of the best blues band I have had a privilege to watch live. I have been smitten by them since the first time I heard them. Tips is beautiful. She pulled me in the act in a way that I could never seem to describe. As much as I tried, I couldn’t take my eyes off of her and as much as I tried I couldn’t walk out of that arena. My companions hence, took it upon themselves to grab me by my heels and drag me all the way to something that was equally awesome. Sahej Bakshi, architect of the very happy Dualist Inquiry gathered quite a crowd at the Eristoff Stage. Brilliantly happy electronica with dashes of intense techno, I was impressed. His style was unlike that of his contemporaries and I was relieved to see the use of so much joy rather than the portrayal of a winding darkness. We danced our tiny little asses off and grumbled as he left. A brilliant engineer he was definitely one of the best acts from Day 2.

Image

2030 hours. Much of the crowd had already apparated to the Rock stage in an attempt to secure a preferential spot below the stage and by the time we made it, all we could see was a sea of black. Fans jumping up and down in anticipatory agony and then as Megadeth arrive a pulse of joy shoots through this very sea. A spectacle I hadn’t much time to witness though. I was lugged away as a result of my underdeveloped ear for music and I am assuming a lot of you think me a fool for passing on such a huge legend, but then to each his own. I apologise though, in case I sound a little cocky but one may not always be like you and you may not always be like one. 😛

Image

ImageImage

No artist dared to play alongside Megadeth because of which a considerable number of people had nowhere to go. Braving the odds, Jstar took to the stage at the Dubstep station and the party came alive yet again. Boppy reggae and raging dubstep made for a very happy ending to the Happiest Music Festival.

ImageImage

Tired and thoroughly drained our little “happy” car made for Delhi again, hoping wishing and praying that the next time the car is directed this way, it is for the next edition of the NH7 Weekender.

“In harmony we thrive and for peace we strive.”

Leave a Reply

