Home

Image

This February I found an excuse to leave the “Dry” State and make for a place that I called Dadu’s (AKA Grandpa) house ever since I was a little kid. Unfortunately, it is now devoid of that particular human existence and is now just called Ranchi. I had traced a very circuitous route to get me there and thus I ended up party to a travelling Family reunion, meeting all my cousins and uncles and aunts. Starting from Bokaro, I went to Dhanbad, which is also the coal capital of India, and well Dhanbad in turn led me to Ranchi. After a couple of hoos and haas, I finally convinced my aunt into letting me go by myself but only after heeding to tales of purse snatchers and crafty thieves that usually operate on this stretch of the South Eastern Railway Network. In any case, two Archies comics later, which also made me extremely nostalgic about my childhood train rides to come see Dadu and Dadi and Nanu and Nani, here I was, looking out of the window at hills I had never bothered to look at, and rivers that had changed their course through all these years.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Well ditching the “Dry” State was just an excuse, I was out trying to rediscover home and well the story took a slightly different turn.

It’s funny how it took me so many years to finally discover the beauty in what was mine, something so many had never cared enough to hide.

Leave a Reply

